Posted by: jbiggars63 | June 2, 2012

Importance of a helmet!


As  many of you know, I took a spill on my bike while going 22 miles per hour on March 30th of this year.  I was lucky and only had a dislocated AC in the third degree which required ortho surgery to repair.  I see my doc this Tuesday and will, hopefully, get the ok to start training again!  I’m not 100% yet but a firm 85%!  Why was I lucky? Because I wore the correct protective gear.  When I hit the pavement at 22 miles per hour, I came down on my right shoulder and my head hit the ground.  I was wearing a Bell Volt helmet which took the brunt of the impact and I walked away without any head injury!  Here are some pictures that show the damage to the helmet.  I couldn’t get a good picture of the inside to show that the crack ended up being rather large!  If I had not protected my head, I certainly could have suffered a head trauma and my outcome could have been much different!  I just encourage everyone, from children to those that ride at a recreational level, please protect your head!  I just had my bike serviced and purchased a new helmet so I am looking forward to doc telling me I can take off! 🙂

It is riverfest in Wichita Kansas and I will be volunteering at the Wichita Riverfest Criterium Race .  This will be a blast!  I will be there with my 300 pounds lost shirt on sharing my story and helping where I can!  Look forward to seeing everyone there!  Here are a couple of pics from last year…none are me!  Will get a few action packed photos posted on Monday from this years race!

Leave a Reply

Categories

