Posted by: jbiggars63 | January 20, 2012

Goals: The Lighthouses to Succuss


Weight loss is tough!  What other addiction do we have to deal with that we still need the substance we are trying to cut back on?  That being said, we need all the help we can get to switch to a new, healthier lifestyle. I see mini-goals as a vital tool into this transition.  I feel like I am a sailboat and the Atlantic ocean is my daily life as I struggle with weight loss. There are hidden reefs everywhere in the form of food temptations and laziness that I must avoid.  A goal, like my 5k run in Irving, Texas or to lose 10 pounds by March 31st, are lighthouses perched on the sounds to help us through the dangerous waters!  If we keep our eyes on them and don’t wander away from them, we will achieve our goal and avoid those nasty reefs but if we look away, watch out!  I have a goal of running 10 minute miles by March 24th and doing a 5k.  Well I just started running again last week and this morning I ran 2.25 miles in 30 minutes.  I am well on track for my goal!  Set an achievable goal for yourself today and see what I mean!  Make it something you think you could do in a couple of months. DON’T SET A STUPID GOAL!  Goals that have little chance of happening only make things worse.  Goals like I am going to lose 30 pounds this month or a non-runner going to run a half marathon in March.  It has got to be realistic!  Good Luck!

Responses

  1. Good luck! You’ve done a great job so far…you are sure to stay on track! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

