Posted by: jbiggars63 | April 27, 2009

Hello World! UPDATED 9/29/2011


                                                                                                                   CHRISTMAS 2008

 

                                                                                                                              MARCH 2010 

                                                                                                                         MARCH 2011 

 

In 1987 I was a fit 220 pound single guy that ran 6 miles a day, weight lifted and taught aerobics 3 times a week. I met and fell in love with my wife and life began to catch up with me! I started making bad decisions by decreasing my activities and eating unhealthy foods. By the time we got married in 1988 I had started to gain and was at 275 pounds. When our first son was born in 1989 the scale reflected my weight at 350 pounds. Nineteen years later, on August 4th, 2008 I weighed 493 pounds. I had high blood pressure, sleep apnea, early signs of kidney and liver issues and poor circulation in my lower legs. I was worn out all the time!

When I went to Wal-Mart to do the shopping, I needed to lean on the cart as soon as I got one and had to lean on it the entire trip. By the time I made it to the check-out counter, I was dripping in sweat! I was tired of being pointed at by little kids who said ‘Look mommy, there’s a really fat man!’ At least some kids didn’t know how rude they were…but the adults did. I was at a company golf tournament once when a bike rider rode by and yelled ‘Oh my God! Get out of that cart and walk!’ There is no describing how humiliating that was.

I was the one responsible for this weight gain and as I edged closer to 500 pounds the time had come to do something! Through mid-December I yo-yo’d between 470 and 490. During this time, I had witnessed a friend of mine, Bonnie Voegeli, lose 30 pounds in 3 months on the Medi-Weightloss Clinics® program. I finally decided to corner her to learn about the diet she was following and began following a low-carb diet on December 23rd, 2008. I viewed this journey as a long slow marathon. My initial goal was 90 pounds in 09′! In just two short weeks on January 6th, 2009, I was already down to 478. I then called Medi-Weightloss Clinics® in Andover, KS and set up my first appointment with Dr. Jeannine Cobb for January 23rd, 2009 weighing in at 454lbs.

The next week, I started to exercise. It wasn’t much, just 15 minutes, 3 times a week on an exercise bike. Fast forward to the present and I take 4 – 6 spin classes a week, lift weights 3 times a week, and walk/jog 4 miles in 40 minutes 3 times a week! In May 2010, I completed my first 10K since 1985 and it was as easy as 1-2-3 (1 hour, 2 minutes, 3 seconds)! On October 10th, 2010, I completed my first half marathon in under 3 hours! Just think, just 22 months prior to that, I couldn’t have walked a block.

This journey has had lots of milestones, but one of my favorites occurred in early August 09 when I took 4 large trash bags of all my 4x and larger clothes to the DAV and again in December 09 when I took 3 more bags of 3x and bigger clothes to the DAV because I am never going to need them again! In April 2010, I was 193 pounds which equates to a loss of 300 pounds. My waist has gone from 72″ to 32″! I am proud to say I have not had a gain week or even stayed the same during the entire process! That’s right, I’ve had a loss every single week and needless to say, the Wal-Mart trips are a breeze now and yes, my wife is even exercising and eating healthy with me and has dropped over 110 pounds! She is also going to Medi-Weightloss Clinics®!

I am just loving the added energy and freedom I am experiencing with this great weight loss! My health is the best it has ever been! My blood pressure is normal and the kidney and liver readings are normal now! I don’t use the sleep machine anymore!

I share my story with everyone I meet and hope to inspire many to try the Medi-Weightloss Clinics® program to realize their dreams.

I am so thankful for Medi-Weightloss Clinics®. They have given me my life back and are truly ‘The One That Works! ®’”

— Jerome from Wichita, KS

Here is a link to my e-book that has a bit more information about my story!  Enjoy and let me know if I were able to do a book detailing how I lost it, would you be interested in it?  THANK YOU!

Jerome-EBook_final

Responses

  1. Jerry,
    I am so very proud to know you, albeit electronically! You truly have taken charge of your life and are making the changes to keep yourself healthy and happy for years to come. Your family must be very proud of you too!

    I look forward to watching you become a mere shadow of your former self!

    Wishing you all the best!

    Jo

  2. Jerome,
    This is Awesome! I know that you will achive your goal because you have just what it takes…DETERMINATION! Just know that our group is behind you all the way and we will be there when you put on that cap and gown and walk proudly on to that stage as a KOP. You have a whole new life ahead! Let nothing stand in your way!
    Love,
    Bonnie

  3. I knew you could do it and you are such a inpiration to all of us.
    We are behind you 1oo% you will be a KOPS soon.

  4. Jerome, this is amazing! 100 + pounds, way to go! You are a real motivator for me and I’m proud to say I’m in your TOPs club. Can’t wait to see you as a KOPs and as a great personal trainer! You’ll make it!

  5. Jerry-

    I am from the Medi Weight Loss board and you are an inspiration! You go Jerry! AMAZING!!!!

  6. Jerome-You have done a great job! You are an inspiration to all! I’m behind you a 100% and so exicited about how well you have done! It’s just unbelieveable and so awesome! I’m so very proud of you! Beverly

  7. Jerome……..great job! Keep up the good work and I know you can do it. You are a wonderful inspiration to all. I agree, the support is very important and helpful along your journey. It will be very exciting to see you with your graduation cap and gown when you reach your goal…..and I’m sure you will get there. I’m very proud of you. Margaret

  8. Jerry,
    I am so impressed with your progress. Totally amazing determination and 100% commitment really does make the difference.

    Keep up the great work!

    Jo

  9. Jerry,

    What an amazing difference already! I am so happy you decided to take your life back. I sure you are feeling on top of the world and you deserve to be. Thanks for all the inspiration and encouragement you provide. I plan to follow your journey all the way to goal. Congrats!

    Susie

  10. Wow, another GREAT month! Congratulations Jerome!

    Bonnie

  11. Each week I’m amazed at your progress, and so happy for you!
    We are so lucky to have such an inspiration in our TOPS group!

  12. Jerome,
    Even though I get to see you regularly, I am still amazed at your success. You are truly an inspiration and I am proud to know you!!

  13. 200.5 lbs GONE!! What an inspiration you are to so many! You are the proof, it can be done just by doing the right thing. MAKING GOOD CHOICES! You have saved your life! CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    Bonnie

  14. Hey Uncle Romy,
    I just wanted to tell you awesome you are! I read every blog you post but since I haven’t seen you in a few months this one blew me away. You are such an inspiration not only in losing weight but by proving that with hard work and determination ANYTHING is possible. I love you so much!

    Bri:)

  15. Jerome, YOU ARE THE BOMB!!!!!! The Harvey Bunch is soooo very proud of you!!!!! We all know how very hard this weight loss journey is and we also know how very hard you have worked to get this far!!! Keep up the great work and keep inspiring all the rest of us weight loss “groupies” as we follow in your footsteps!!! May we all have your determination, strength and success!!!! Love you, Flo,Mike and gang.

  16. Wow!! You are an inspiration! This is an awesome website. Congratulations on your success!

  17. Congratulations, Jerome, on your awesome accomplishment. I wish you continued success and have passed your blog on to others who, like myself, need your inspiration. We want to know which supplements and diet aids you use. I tried to find a Stay Slim pill but can’t seem to find it online and we’re also curious which fat burner you use. I’m susceptible to getting jittery and not being able to sleep and am wondering if I could take what you’re taking. Your thoughts?
    Laura

    • hey Laura! How are ya doing? Those pills mentioned, I get at MediWeightloss clinic. If you just used a fatburner like Lipo6, Hydoxicut, or Tight…you should be fine. At least, that is what I have been told. If you have any medical conditions, you should consult your doctor first.

  18. Thanks, Jerome! I’m doing well, but not as well as you!! Wow!!! I looked on the Medi-Fast site but didn’t see the pill there. I don’t have any medical conditions but I have to be careful about the jitters and trouble sleeping because of diet pills. I need a good appetite suppressant that fits my lifestyle (busy). Keep up the good work! I’ll check to see how you’re doing once in a while, especially if I need inspiration.
    Later, Laura

    • Jo is right on with her comments. A lot of people do confuse Medi-Fast with Medi-Weightloss but they are different. Good Luck Laura! Have you seen Bonnie lately?

  19. Hi there, Laura. I know Jerry will get to you shortly, but I thought perhaps I could help here.
    Our program is NOT Medifast but Medi-Weight Loss. All of the products are proprietary to Medi-Weight Loss and therefore are not for sale outside of the program. However, that being said, there are quite a few good Hoodia products out there that may suffice for you. Or….alternately, you might just look into the Medi-Weight Loss program for yourself. I have been very successful with it, losing a total of 108 pounds.

    Good luck,

    Jo

  20. What an awesome story! Good for you for chronicling on your blog as well. So amazing. Hope you are doing well after the surgery.

  21. Jerome: How are you doing after your surgery? Inquiring minds want to know. Several friends of mine have asked me and I told them I’d email you for an update. You are amazing and I voted for you in the Cover contest. Every one of the entrants have an inspiring story so whoever wins deserves it.
    Later, Laura

    • Doing peachy! Tubes are out and Doc says 1 more week and I can resume all my activities! WOOT! Thanks for your vote!

  22. Was just posting about you on my blog. I saw you on the Today show. I am so glad to read that you wished they would have focused on how you lost the weight rather than the artifical sugar thing. I was dissapointed they did not talk more about your program. I think they did a disservice to people who have as much to lose as you did by doing that. I did ask my friends and family to watch because I think you are an inspiration. I have 3 pounds to go to my goal (which is only 41 pounds) but still I know what you mean what you said about about your last 7 just so you can say you lost 300 pounds. I just want to get to that nice round 140 pound weight number on the scale. Our weight loss needs were different but it is all relative.

    • Thanks! Yes, we all have our own mountains to climb and when we reach the top, we are all victorious! I have hit a 3 week plateau but will continue to do what has worked for 16 months! I WILL eventually break through it! Thanks for your comment and good luck with that last 3! : )

  23. Jerome!

    Congratulations on achieving your goal. You look fantastic. You are a great inspiration. I am still rubbing my eyes when I see the transformation in your pictures.

    • Why thank you sir! I still do double takes in the mirror sometimes! : )

  24. Your story is amazing. I have seen you on the brochures for Medi Weightloss just thought, “Wow”. Then I started reading on the LowCarb Friends forum in the October post and saw you there but didn’t put two and two together until I came to your blog. Keep up the great job on your maintenance. I have lost 27 lbs. since starting on August 13 and I am hoping to lose another 60 lbs or so. Thank you for your inspiration and I look forward to following your blog too.

    • WTG! Keep up the great work! Thanks!

  25. Hi Jerome, I am so happy to read your story and realize I am not the only one with a weight problem. I lost 100 pounds in the last year and because I have experienced this I am thrilled with your 300 pound weght loss! I am proud of you! Sincerely, Debbie Johnson, Missouri


Leave a Reply

Categories

